SVEEP organises an open 10 km run in Pakyong

Publish Date : 01/04/2024
10 Km Run

Pakyong District Administration, under SVEEP organises an open 10k run in Pakyong.
Pakyong, 12 March (IPR): In anticipation to the Lok Sabha Election 2024, the Pakyong District Administration organised open 10k run in Pakyong, today.
This initiative, part of the Systematic Voter’s Education and Electoral Participation (SVEEP) Programme, carried the inspiring slogan “CHUNAV KA PARV, DESH KA GARV” (Elections: the biggest Festival and Pride of the Nation).
In the presence of Mr Tashi Chophel, DC Pakyong, Ms Anupa Tamling, ADC Pakyong, Mr Bishal Sharma, Additional Political Secretary to the HCM, Mr Mahendra Chettri, SDM HQ, Ms Merina Rai, Joint Secretary Election Cell, and representatives from SARATHI, the races for both male and female categories were flagged off.
During the event, Ms. Merina Rai, Joint Secretary Election Cell, explained that the event aimed to boost voter awareness and empower eligible voters to actively participate in the democratic process as part of the SVEEP initiative.
She emphasised the importance of increasing voter turnout for the 2024 General Elections and urged all eligible voters to exercise their right to vote.
The event culminated with the announcement of the 10k run winners in both male and female categories, as follows:
Winner in the male category
1st: Pradip Mahato won a cash prize of ₹ 20,000 (Siliguri).
2nd: Bikash Bhujel won a cash prize of ₹ 15,000 (Kalimpong).
3rd: Puran Rai and Vivek Chettri won cash prizes of ₹ 10,000 (Kalimpong).
Winner in the female category
1st: Sabina Rai won a cash prize of ₹ 20,000 (Siliguri).
2nd: Priya Tamang won a cash prize of ₹ 15,000 (Kalimpong).
3rd: Priya Chettri won a cash prize of ₹ 10,000 (Gangtok).
Certificates were also awarded to both the winners and participants of the event.